

EUROCORES Programme European Collaborative Research

EuroDYNA

Dynamic Nuclear Architecture and Chromatin Function

3rd EuroDYNA Meeting

The Wellcome Trust Conference Centre, UK, 28-31 May 2008

Final Programme

Wednesday 28 May 2008

18.30	Arrival and registration Dinner
20.00 - 20.10	Welcome and Introductory remarks Niels Galjart and Astrid Lunkes
20.10 - 21.30	Keynote Lecture: Rodney Rothstein (Columbia University, US) Exploring DNA repair pathways & cell behavior in budding yeast

Welcome drink

Thursday 29 May 2008

Session 1

Chair: Niels Galjart

09.00 – 9.30	Hilmar Strickfaden (Ludwig-Maximilians University, Munich) <i>Exploring the Dynamics of DNA-Repair using the Ion- Microbeam-facility SNAKE</i>
09.30 - 10.00	Simon Bekker-Jensen (Danish Cancer Society, Copenhagen) Post-translational modifications at sites of DNA damage: Mechanisms and consequences for protein accumulation
10.00 - 10.30	Roland Kanaar (Erasmus Medical Center, Rotterdam) Mechanisms of Genome Maintenance

10.30 - 11.00	Coffee break
11.00 - 11.30	Sergey Alekseev (Erasmus Medical Center, Rotterdam) Dynamic organization of DNA damage recognition in nucleotide excision repair
11.30 - 12.00	Simone Sabbioneda (University of Sussex) Dynamics of Translesion synthesis polymerases in living cells
12.30	Lunch
13.30 - 15.30	Poster Session
Session 2 <i>Chair: Adriaan He</i>	outsmuller
15.30 - 16.00	John van Noort (Leiden University) Single-Molecule Force Spectroscopy Reveals a Highly Compliant Solenoidal Structure for the 30 nm Chromatin Fibre
16.00 - 16.30	Joke van Vugt (Radboud University, Nijmegen) Perceptions on catalysed nucleosome movement
16.30 - 17.00	Coffee break
17.00 - 17.30	Herbert Lindner (University of Innsbruck) Phosphorylation of Linker Histones: New Insights
17.30 - 18.00	Anna Gréen (Linköping University) Histone H1 phosphorylation pattern in early apoptotic Jurkat cells
18.00 - 18.30	Pavel Kovarik (University of Vienna) Recruitment of Stat1 to chromatin is required for interferon-induced serine phosphorylation of Stat1 transactivation domain
19.00	Conference Dinner

Friday 30 May 2008

Session 3
Chair: Roland Kanaar

09.30 - 10.00	Jason Merwin (University of Geneva)
	Regulation of ribosomal protein gene expression by Ifh1 in budding yeast
10.00 - 10.30	Niels Galjart (Erasmus Medical Center, Rotterdam) Functional analysis of mouse CTCF

10.30 – 11.00 Cd	offee	break
------------------	-------	-------

11.00 - 11.30	Rainer Renkawitz (Justus-Liebig University, Giessen)
	The multiple roles of the enhancer blocker CTCF

11.30 – 12.00 **Kerstin Wendt** (IMP, Vienna)

Cohesin mediates transcriptional insulation by CTCF

12.30 Lunch

13.30 – 15.00 **Poster Session**

Session 4

Chair: Wim Vermeulen

15.00 - 15.30	Sebastian Leidel (ETH Zürich)
	The ubiquitin-related modifier Urm1p functions as a sulfur-carrier in thiolation of eukaryotic tRNA
15.30 - 16.00	Petra de Graaf (Utrecht University Medical Center) Dynamic chromatin association of TATA-binding protein (TBP) is regulated by the SWI/SNF like ATPase BTAF1
16.00 - 16.30	Martin van Royen (Erasmus Medical Center, Rotterdam) Spatiotemporal organization of AR intra- and intermolecular domain interactions in living cells
16.30 - 17.00	Coffee break

17.00 - 17.30	Maria Carmo-Fonseca (University of Lisbon) Co-transcriptional RNA checkpoints
17.30 - 18.00	Maria Fousteri (Leiden University Medical Center) Stalled transcription elongation as a key event in neurodegenerative and ageing-related human disorders
18.00 - 18.30	Leonie Kamminga (Hubrecht Institute, Utrecht) Small RNAs in the germ line
18.45	Dinner
20.00 - 21.30	Keynote Lecture: Denise Barlow (IMP, Vienna) Gene silencing in the mammalian genome by macro ncRNAs

Saturday 31 May 2008

09.00 - 11.00	Project Leaders present achievements of CRPs to the Review Panel followed by questions from the Panel
11.00 - 11.15	Coffee break
11.15 - 12.15	continued Project Leaders present achievements of CRPs to the Review Panel
12.15 - 12.45	Future Opportunities of the field
12.15 - 12.45 12.45 - 13.00	Future Opportunities of the field Concluding remarks: Colin Logie (Chair of Scientific Committee) and Astrid Lunkes

Departure

Post-conference meeting

14.00 – 16.00 EuroDYNA Review Panel meeting